We had plans for Thanksgiving week but all of our plans were laid aside when we received the news that my only brother, my only sibling, had slipped away from us last Friday.  He died suddenly from heart complications.  He was a husband, a father, a grandfather, a brother, a brother-in-law, an uncle...and so many other things to so many people.  He will be missed.  We hadn't lived geographically close to each other for years, but he was there, within reach of the telephone, and now he's gone.
     I've always loved the allegorical story of the man who boards a ship and as it sets out to sea those on the shoreline wave and tearfully say, "There he goes."  But those on the other side of the water see the ship approaching and joyfully declare, "Here he comes!"  I know my brother had a Savior, a mother and a dad as well as other loved ones to greet him.  But we are left on this earthly shoreline to nurse the void left when he set sail.  

Tammy's Book Parlor
jack howell
4/10/2011 04:05:01 am

I always remembered my cousin 'Danny' especially when I heard the song "Danny Boy" We had some real good memories on 'Sherks Dairy' in Albuquerque.
He always loved my mom's beans and ham hocks, and we always enjoyed his mothers pies.
I enjoyed reading your story.
jack

Reply
kathie
4/10/2011 05:25:17 am

I am very sorry for your loss and will be praying for you all to find some peace thru this time.
even tho i cannot remember lots of my cousins very well, I know someday in heaven we will all be aquainted as we praise and worship around our Fathers throne :)
be blessed much

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    The people who have most influenced my life were not Very Important People (VIP's), except to me.  They were ordinary acquaintanceif s, friends, and family, whose little every day stories, told in my presence,  inspired me.  Many of these people never realized what a book their life stories would make -- until I came along! :)  I enjoy the writing and retelling of those ordinary lives, in novel form - which gives me license to create dialogue and suspense.